n September 20, 2012, the National Endowment for Democracy presented its annual Democracy Award to the Democracy Movement of Burma. Famed Burmese democracy activist **Aung San Suu Kyi**, House Democratic Leader **Nancy Pelosi** (D-CA), Sen. **John McCain** (R-AZ), and Rep. **Joe Crowley** (D-NY) were among those present to pay tribute at the ceremony, which was held on Capitol Hill. Four prominent civil society activists accepted the award on behalf of the larger movement: **Hkun Htun Oo, Kyaw Thu, Aung Din**, and Dr. **Cynthia Maung** (*pictured below*). A fifth, Min Ko Naing, remained in Burma to protest the government's delay in releasing passports to others in the dissident community.

2012 IN REVIEW

Suu Kyi, who received the Congressional Gold Medal the day before, expressed her appreciation for the international recognition of others involved in the movement. "To be honored is great, but to honor others is even greater," she said. "I feel very happy that today I am in a position to honor my fellow countrymen and women."

Following the presentation to the 2012 winners, Gershman was joined by former Secretary of State Madeleine Albright to honor Aung San Suu Kyi with a long-postponed award of her own. In May 2000, on the 10th anniversary of Burma's stolen elections that resulted in Aung San Suu Kyi's long-term house arrest, NED honored Suu Kyi and her party – the National League for Democracy (NLD) – with a beautiful wooden version of the Goddess of Democracy statue. Hand carved by a Nigerian artist just

a year after Nigeria's democrats had overcome their own stolen elections, the statue was a symbol of democratic solidarity and encouragement. Unable to leave her home in 2000, Suu Kyi finally accepted the award from Albright, who had made the original presentation in 2000.

"Never give up," declared Albright upon awarding the statue. "Make sure to continue your efforts... This is a very special occasion for all of us to be in the presence of these extremely brave people."

Gershman added that, "amidst the despair, Burma's prodemocracy movement offered its people genuine reason for hope. While they endured decades of harassment and oppression, the popular desire for freedom, dignity and democratic change never wavered."

for Dum

Democracy Service Medal

The Endowment's Board created its Democracy Service Medal in 1999 to recognize individuals who have demonstrated, through personal commitment, their dedication to the advancement of freedom, human rights, and democracy. In 2012, NED presented the Medal to **Madeleine Albright** and **George Shultz**, both former U.S. Secretaries of State who made major contributions to the advancement of democracy both during and after their official careers. The joint presentation was made on June 4, 2012, in Los Angeles, CA, at a privately-funded gala to benefit the World Movement for Democracy.

On June 5, Shultz and Albright participated in a public conference, "Democracy in the World After Thirty Years," co-sponsored by NED, the Ronald Reagan Presidential Foundation, and the Pacific Council for International Policy, marking the 30th Anniversary of President Ronald Reagan's historic Westminster Address, which launched the creation of NED (*see sidebar*). Held at the Reagan Library in Simi Valley, CA, the conference began with a conversation about "Democracy Assistance since the Westminster Address" with Albright and former President of Peru **Alejandro Toledo**, moderated by NED President Carl Gershman. A second

HISTORY IN FOCUS

The Westminster Address, 1982

The Westminster Address was delivered on June 8, 1982, by President Ronald Reagan to the British Parliament, and became one of his most famous and important speeches. The Address, in combination with the long-standing efforts of Congressional Democrat Dante Fascell, launched the creation of the National Endowment for Democracy (NED) and sparked the growth of democracy assistance as a major new field of international cooperation. Thirty years later, the Endowment is flourishing as one of our country's most remarkable bipartisan endeavors – a truly unique institution where Democrats, Republicans, and members of both the labor and business communities have worked together to advance the universal values of freedom, human rights, and democracy in every region of the world.



panel featuring key democracy activists from China, Ethiopia, Tunisia, and Ukraine was moderated by *Journal of Democracy* Co-Editor **Larry Diamond**. That panel, titled "The Struggle Today: From a Whisper to a Roar," began with an excerpt from the documentary film *From a Whisper to a Roar*, which chronicles recent democratic struggles and was inspired by Diamond's book *The Spirit of Democracy*.

The conference concluded with a luncheon address by Shultz and a tribute by NED to former California Congressman and SEC Chairman Christopher Cox, who served on NED's Board of Directors and is a great champion of the struggle for democracy.

Dr. Alfred C. Stepan Delivers Ninth Annual Lipset Lecture

The Ninth Annual Lipset Lecture was delivered on Nov. 13 at the Embassy of Canada in Washington, D.C., by Dr. Alfred C. Stepan, the Wallace Sayre Professor of Government at Columbia University. His talk, which was co-authored by his longtime collaborator Juan J. Linz of Yale University, focused on "Democratization Theory and the Arab Spring." Much of his talk and the lively question-and-answer session that followed focused on how the desire of many Muslims to live in a society based on Islamic law (sharia) can be reconciled with their desire to live under democracy. A revised version Stepan's lecture was published in the April 2013 *Journal of Democracy* (www. JournalofDemocracy.org).

The Lipset Lecture series, sponsored jointly by NED and the Munk Center for International Affairs at the University of Toronto (where Stepan spoke on Nov. 15), is named for one of the great democratic scholars and public intellectuals of the twentieth century, Seymour Martin Lipset. The Lipset Lecture acts as a vehicle for continued cooperation between the United States and Canada in promoting democracy and democratic ideals around the world, and provides an annual opportunity for influential audiences of both the countries to hear and discuss a declaration on democracy by a prominent intellectual.

Opposite: Event Co-Chairs Marc Nathanson (left) and Bob Tuttle (right) joined NED Chairman Richard Gephardt and NED President Carl Gershman to honor former Secretaries of State Madeleine Albright and George Shultz. **This page, top**: Alfred Stepan delivered the Ninth Annual Lipset Lecture at the Canadian Embassy in Washington, DC. **Right**: Aung San Suu Kyi holds the Award NED presented in absentia over a decade earlier. **Below (I-r)**: Burmese activist Kyaw Thu; Gershman with past Board member Chris Cox; George Shultz at the Reagan Library.



